top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe Current

Blossoming

By Mackenzie Morong


springtime,

the time for new beginnings,

as I sit on the edge of my grandfather’s truck.

through the open front doorway, I see


boxes

and boxes.

my parents move through rooms,

stacking, cutting tape,

hauling boxes down the stairs.


my fingers tap on the truck bed,

cool metal under the petals gathered there

from our neighbor’s tree

the one that leans over the fence

over our driveway

the one I used to climb with them,


sit at the top,

survey the land.

all belonged to us.


now the branches sway in the breeze,

and the flowers bloom pink and white,

bees buzzing,

birds chirping,


I curl my hand around the glass of root beer

on my lap, and

a chill runs through me.


inside, the world turns over and over

with the squeak of tape pulling

and cardboard scraping walls.


outside,

I am still.


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Ancient Greeks

The Greeks could face the darkness with their light.

Joyfully

breaking up with you is the easiest thing I do all day.

bottom of page