top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe Current

Joyfully

breaking up with you

is the easiest thing I do all day.

easier by far than deciding what to order at Panera,

than figuring out which lane to be in as I drive to meet you.

breaking up with you makes my heart ring and my feet settle into the ground,

so as we trace our way around the circle of pavement,

I am the first to speak, for once.

rain taps the ground and a man gets out of his car right in front of us,

water shaking off the passenger door,

and even that cannot stop me.


it is all for the best. and so I push on.


I am building myself a new world,

where I don’t lie,

and I don’t pretend,

and I give everyone the chances we deserve.

I don’t fit myself into a mold that wasn’t made for me,

and I don’t try to cram you into mine, either.

your smile tells me you understand.


when it’s over, really over, I get in my car and scream.

I drive the whole way home with the windows down.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blossoming

Springtime, the time for new beginnings...

The Ancient Greeks

The Greeks could face the darkness with their light.

bottom of page